It is currently Sun Jul 12, 2020 11:50 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
  Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Author Message
 Post subject: Sentry and close combat
PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 7:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:06 pm
Posts: 13
Hi I have a question regarding sentry and close combat which came up during a play test of the v1.2 beta rules.

After my model engaged an enemy model it has one action to strike. However if it was on sentry the enemy model can perform a cc action (after a successful LD test).

Now my question: When does the model on sentry strike? Before my engaging model gets to strike or after? Or is there a roll off like in Chronopia? Thanks for helping me out.

Really happy with the rules so far otherwise, can't wait for v1.3.... ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 1040
Location: Kenilworth, Warwickshire, UK
That's an interesting point.

As it happens in between actions though, it would be before the enemy strikes.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 1:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 9:21 pm
Posts: 76
Yes, since Engage is 1 action and Sentry lets you reserve 1 action you would follow the rules for Sentry as normal. It means a model does an action and if the opposing player wants to use a model on Sentry they can pass an LD test to then use that model. It would essentially interrupt the other model and since both Engage and Shooting are 1 action you could do either one. It gives a bonus to the defender since they can shoot or engage and if the model that triggered the Sentry survives they complete their action.

There is no charge/counter charge since the rules don't use language like that, though a charge is effectively an Engage action. The rules for Engage would need to be modified so that when you do that action the target model is allowed an LD test. If passed they are allowed to roll an initiative with the attacking model and if they win that initiative roll may attack before the attacking model.

Since it doesn't say things like that, you don't have options like that. The entire language would need modification for it to work like Chronopia.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 10:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 6:52 pm
Posts: 120
Location: France
Hello guys.

If i remenber well (don't have my book here) the wordings say that the sentry action is triggered at the end of a (n movement?) action.

So you engage that means end of your turn

sentry with LD test to perform either CC action or Ranged action.

if still alive the engaging model can strike back following the CC rules.

Regards.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
skymiles_red v1.0.1 designed by Team -Programming forum-سيارات للبيع .