Prodos Games LTD Forum

Sentry and close combat
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Nikodemus [ Wed Apr 10, 2013 7:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Sentry and close combat

Hi I have a question regarding sentry and close combat which came up during a play test of the v1.2 beta rules.

After my model engaged an enemy model it has one action to strike. However if it was on sentry the enemy model can perform a cc action (after a successful LD test).

Now my question: When does the model on sentry strike? Before my engaging model gets to strike or after? Or is there a roll off like in Chronopia? Thanks for helping me out.

Really happy with the rules so far otherwise, can't wait for v1.3.... ;)

Author:  rob_alderman [ Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sentry and close combat

That's an interesting point.

As it happens in between actions though, it would be before the enemy strikes.

Author:  Horned God [ Sun Jun 22, 2014 1:39 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Sentry and close combat

Yes, since Engage is 1 action and Sentry lets you reserve 1 action you would follow the rules for Sentry as normal. It means a model does an action and if the opposing player wants to use a model on Sentry they can pass an LD test to then use that model. It would essentially interrupt the other model and since both Engage and Shooting are 1 action you could do either one. It gives a bonus to the defender since they can shoot or engage and if the model that triggered the Sentry survives they complete their action.

There is no charge/counter charge since the rules don't use language like that, though a charge is effectively an Engage action. The rules for Engage would need to be modified so that when you do that action the target model is allowed an LD test. If passed they are allowed to roll an initiative with the attacking model and if they win that initiative roll may attack before the attacking model.

Since it doesn't say things like that, you don't have options like that. The entire language would need modification for it to work like Chronopia.

Author:  C. Paladine [ Thu Jun 26, 2014 10:11 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sentry and close combat

Hello guys.

If i remenber well (don't have my book here) the wordings say that the sentry action is triggered at the end of a (n movement?) action.

So you engage that means end of your turn

sentry with LD test to perform either CC action or Ranged action.

if still alive the engaging model can strike back following the CC rules.


Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group