It is currently Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:17 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
  Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 7:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:13 am
Posts: 26
Okay, I need some clarification here. I'm still learning this game, and need some help. I'm asking abit this skill in particular:

Active: The Fog: At the beginning of the MacGuire’s Activation,
Turn to Burn 3 Resource Cards, every Model within
8” of MacGuire (including himself) cannot make or be targeted
by Ranged attacks this Game Turn. Designer note: If
a Model is unable to make a Ranged Attack, then, it cannot
use any Special Skills related to his Ranged Weapon.

1) Does The Fog active skill also prevent making and being targeted by Psychic (S) ranged attacks? (I'm thinking 'yes', but if I want to overuse this ability vs a certain psychic heavy Mishima army, I wish to be certain)

2) How does this relate to flamer/shotgun template weapons? Can a model affected by the fog recieve hits from these template weapons?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 12:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 44
The way i see it (i use him a lot) is:

1) Yes, because Psychic (S) are considered Shooting Attack, meaning you cant do it and shoot normally because both are a Shooting Attack. Pg67 mentions "Shooting psychic power actions count as basic shooting actions, but instead use WP..." so they are indeed affected by the Fog (both ways, so you can cockblock an opponent psychic guy with it lol) -- Do remember though that some attacks or other effects that still count as Psychic (S) can go through The Fog because they do not target a model (such as the ki power ... what is it Path of Lava? line effect on the ground that lasts the turn)

2) Templates that do not require you to point at a specific target (which is most of them, flamers/shotguns included) can be used through The Fog. Shotgun is a gray area since you are performing normal RS actions, but you are not "targeting" any models. However it would be difficult to land either flamers or shotguns unless the target is sitting at the edge of The Fog anyway, since you cant shoot if youre in it too (it doesnt discriminate between friendly/nonfriendly models)
Most blast templates require a target, so they cannot be fired directly into the fog but can scatter into it fine. Ones with the Grenade (G) rule, however, can simply target a point that happens to be at the feet of someone in The Fog. This is generally a good tactic anyway since it dodges all "Targeting a model..." type RS modifiers such as Imperial Smoke Screens.

I guess "technically" you could Rail through The Fog too if there was something on the other side of it not covered by it...but that would be insanely situational lol


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 1:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 7:10 am
Posts: 437
Just to be a real bastard, Cyber could deploy a Voltigeur, drop a drone where they want to shoot and rail through it into their intended target... but yeah, very much situational.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2015 4:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:13 am
Posts: 26
Alright, thanks for that


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
skymiles_red v1.0.1 designed by Team -Programming forum-سيارات للبيع .