It is currently Thu Dec 12, 2019 12:25 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
  Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Author Message
 Post subject: Actions
PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2015 5:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 3:50 pm
Posts: 16
Can a model perfom a ranged attack with one action and a Close Combat with the other? I am assuming yes


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Actions
PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 4:35 pm
Posts: 56
yes, but you cant do the same action twice...so,you couldn't do 2 ranged or 2 close but one of each is ok.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Actions
PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2015 3:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 3:50 pm
Posts: 16
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Actions
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 1:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:41 pm
Posts: 25
personally the game I tried, with proxy models, the game played much better when treating attacking as a single type of move. Aka either CC attack or Ranged, but couldn't do both. Played smoother and the predators weren't quite as overpowered, "seemingly" I will add. I've only played two matches.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Actions
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 2:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 3:50 pm
Posts: 16
That is the heart of my original question. A ranged attack and then a close combat attack made the predators practically unstoppable. So my friend asked maybe you can only use one kind of attack per turn.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Actions
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 10:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 4:21 pm
Posts: 34
I know people think you can do both a cc and ranged attacks in the same activation but would be good for Prodos to confirm.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Actions
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 10:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 43
Quote:
I know people think you can do both a cc and ranged attacks in the same activation but would be good for Prodos to confirm.


People don't "think" you can do that. They know you can do that. It's in the rulebook. Just go through it. It keeps referring to "Shooting Action" and "Close Combat Action". At no point does it bundle the two into a single, common, type of action.

There's no doubt in the rulebook. Maybe it's too strong (I wish I knew, still waiting for my game) but it is what it is. Maybe Prodos needs to change it. Or not. But there's no need to confirm it. It's crystal clear. According to the rulebook, you can use your two actions to shoot and close combat.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Actions
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 7:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 7:24 am
Posts: 45
Actually... the wording is a bit ambiguous... it says there are two types of actions... basic and extended... and can only do one of each per turn. RC and CC are both listed as BASIC ACTIONS... The demo's Ive done I only allow one of each... because, yeah, the Preds are already hoss... giving them that as well makes them steamrollers...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Actions
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2015 10:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 43
Seriously... the rulebook is bad enough without misreading...

Page 23:
"Actions are divided into two Groups — Basic or Extended — and each Action can only be used once by a Model in a Game Turn"

How exactly is this not crystal clear? There are action types and the rule does not limit you to an action of each type or whatever. "Actions are divided into two groups" and "each Action can only be used once".

I'm all for calling developers on badly written rules (especially developers that published a draft rulebook and ignored comments about it) but there is absolutely no way that rule has a problem. It might be too powerful for the current missions/stats or whatever but... the rule is crystal clear.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Actions
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2015 6:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 2:16 pm
Posts: 49
Without having read the rulebook, I'm basing this on the quotes in this thread alone.

RC is a Basic Action
CC is a Basic Action

You are only allowed 1 Basic Action in a turn.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
skymiles_red v1.0.1 designed by Team -Programming forum-سيارات للبيع .